top of page

Pretty weather, scraping my leg, and a lot of weird looks in Belle Isle.

When I proposed to Rachel that I wanted to do a photoshoot in Belle Isle, she became just as excited as I did. You can see why! Belle Isle is located in Richmond, VA, and offers a variety of scenic views, tubing fun, sun bathing or even an impromptu photoshoot! We went shopping for a flowy summer dress, packed a cooler of bottled water, and hit the road! And, truly, I cannot wait to do it again!

We decided to go to a little place within Belle Isle called Pony Pasture. It's a little park easily accessible to tourists for tubing and swimming. I had never ever been there before, but I'll tell y'all what- it was so worth the hour and a half drive. Immediately upon arriving I was able to snap some stunning pictures. I'm talking like, stepped out into the water, instantly blog worthy shots of my girl.

Who, by the way, had JUST gotten this adooorable tattoo the day before! (brave lady.)

The hat (that I will use again) and those glass bottles were $1 each at Dollar Tree people. The dress (that I will totally wear)? On clearance for $10 at Forever 21. If you can dream it, you can do it!

But, of course, it got slippery. I may have slipped and gotten my leg wedged beneath a large moss covered rock, all in any efforts to save my camera, but, the damage wasn't too bad. And I even got an "oh my god, you okay?" from a total stranger. Thank you dude.

The important thing is I saved my camera. If I had pictures of the trauma I suffered to my leg I would include them, but it's already almost completely gone away. Tells you it really wasn't that bad. One thing you might not know about me is that I am so dramatic when I injure myself. I've never broken a bone, so anything that involves a little blood makes me feel like a warrior. AAAaaanyhow, enough about me!

I love this one! Ahhh, thank you Rachel!!

These ones are where the weird looks come in.

Sometimes you just have to deal with people watching you to get a good shot. She's standing on the bottom step of a stairway to get into the water here, and I would guess we had about 8 to 10 people watching us. I thought they were waiting for us to finish so they could get in, but when we left, so did they. I think there was even a little girl swimming right at Rachel's feet in this one. Lol, whoops!

All in all, 10 of 10 would recommend, wonderful day, beautiful model, and some of my favorite portraits came from it. Enjoy some highlights of the day!

Peep those happy, yellow, JMU toes!

(Can you see how I tripped? hehe)

Big thanks again to Rachel Ferreira, and best of luck to her as she starts her first semester at James Madison University. You're gonna do great!!!

And hooray for my first blog post! Comments and critiques would be much appreciated!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page