top of page

A Season of Change

Happy back to school kids, college students, and moms and dads!!

This September isn’t the start of a new school year for me, but it is the start of a new wedding season! This Saturday will be the first wedding I’ve shot since I’ve rebranded myself. I am so much more confident this time around than I was for my last wedding in October of 2016. Since then I have really made this thing my own. After Saturday I have another wedding to shoot in October and another one in the summertime! I cannot wait to get it all up on the blog for you!

A shot from Joy and Jason's wedding in October last year!

The reason I get so excited to shoot weddings is because what I really love most about photography is capturing the emotion of the moment. I want the bride to remember the split second that her eyes lit up as she saw herself in the mirror for the first time, and I want her to remember how her husband teared up when he finally saw his soon-to-be-wife being walked down the aisle by her father.

That same concept is also what makes this job so intimidating. Sure, everyone will always remember their big day, but how it is captured in photographs is how it will be remembered. What if I were to miss all of those moments, and ten years down the road all this couple has to relive their precious wedding day is a posed photo between the ceremony and the reception?

Here’s a picture of the bridal party jumping, oh, and here’s one of the bride and the groom kissing, where the photographer obviously asked the party to look shocked!!!

Photos like that are great, sure. Even I’ve been known to take them. But what I really want for the couple is for them to feel their wedding day when they look through their gallery. If they cry together in their pajamas with their morning cup of coffee as they flip through their gallery, I’ve done something right. There’s this photo of my boyfriend and I (who wasn’t my boyfriend at the time) before going to the military ball. We posed a lot of them, but there is one that really takes me back to that day and that specific moment. I swear it was the moment I fell in love with him and I tell him that to this day, every time I see the picture. Not only that, but it reminds me of the night, of our dinner at Carrabba’s and how nervous I was to sit across from him at dinner. It reminds me of how awkward I was trying to dance with him and how frustrated I was when he didn’t kiss me before he left.

Plus, I mean, just look at him!!

So, on your big day, let me take photos of:

Fighting back happy tears (and letting them fall)

Prayers and words of encouragement

Dancing and laughing

The moment when you say “I love you”

The moment when you’re told “I love you”

Hugs for mom and dad

Behind the scenes moments between groomsmen and bridesmaids

Rushing and running late

Waiting patiently

Kind little details

And I can assure you that your wedding day will live on!

Can you tell I have wedding fever? Hehe.

Stay tuned for Amanda and Tucker’s poolside wedding on the blog in the coming weeks!

Just a few more of my favorites from that day over three years ago. :)

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page