top of page

Kierra Perry- Neon District; Norfolk, VA

Kierra is a one-of-a-kind gal.

She came to me a while ago with a request I had never received before. As of January this year, after a lifetime of crippling illness, she’s received a new treatment that gives her the gift of health. And to celebrate?

A bright, colorful, and an unapologetically destructive photoshoot.

Kierra no longer needs her walker to get around, her IV and liquid diet, and a number of other medical equipment that she used to need to live a semi-normal life… and I have been inspired by her easy-going, positive attitude towards her past, and even more so, her future.

When she came to me, she asked me if we could destroy her old medical equipment, and believe it or not, I’ve never done that before. But I’m ALWAYS down for something new, and ALWAYS up for a challenge!

To make this even more exciting, we chose to do this at Neon District in Norfolk, VA, which I have also never heard of before, but hey, like I said… let’s do it

I wanted to make this day special, and I wanted this photoshoot to not only be a total blast, but original. Kierra told me that she loves color, and I thought, “hey, I love paint and being ridiculous in public,” so therefore we decided to PAINT HER FACE. It was such a fun ending to such a powerful photoshoot, and a memory that I will forever hold dear to my heart.

I love photography a lot, but I loved this even more. Thank you, Kierra, for choosing me to help you celebrate a new season of life.

“Every act of creation is first an act of destruction.”-Pablo Picasso

video edit by Rilee Jackson Visuals

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page