top of page

Renovating My Office

If I didn’t choose photography as my career, I quite possibly might have made it interior design. But that would have taken a lot more college, in other words, you’re welcome dad!!

So for the past two weeks I have been working on decorating an office space for my photography business. I found within the first week of working from home that it is so important to be able to have a space to retreat to when I can’t focus or seem to relax.

We have been in the process of renovating our kitchen as well, which was my workspace then, so I was constantly looking around at things that needed to be done and thinking of ideas for my kitchen, when I should have been editing or blogging. So I put a halt to the kitchen (which I will try to blog the process of as well!! We’re going to try to paint and then pour a resin over our countertops instead of buying granite, LOL WISH ME LUCK. Anyways). I’m so happy that I took a small break from the kitchen to make an office space. As much traffic (humans and dogs included) that go through the kitchen all day, an office was necessary.

Here I what I started with:

It’s empty here, but before we emptied it out there was a spare bed set and some dressers.

Quick side note- last year, this room was used to house 7 puppies and their mommy for about 2 months, so it has been through a lot! And I think Stella still has a special connection to this room from her infancy, look how content she looks. :)

When I went shopping for décor and furniture, I had the worst time finding an affordable desk that met my needs. All I wanted was something very simple to work from that I could slide a chair underneath, and everything I could find, although gorgeous, was not that. So I took a trip to the thrift store and found the perfect one for $40! All I needed to add was a few coats of paint, and I think it’s perfect!

 

Because I'm insane, and maybe a little OCD, I decided to start painting this room at 11:00PM on a Saturday night after dinner. And, obviously, I can't just quit until it's done. I painted the walls, baseboards, and window trim all in one night. When I went to bed, it was 6AM. It's possible I suffered a panic attack as a result of sleep deprivation, paint fumes, and wine. It's fine.

Anyways, 10/10 would not recommend that. But it's done, and it's more beautiful and totally ME than I could have imagined. I'm typing this in here right now listening to a thunderstorm and Hozier while Stella sleeps on the couch across from me. Aaaahhhh.....

 

Curtains- HomeGoods

Just a few of my favorite albums! Graceland- Paul Simon; Meddle- Pink Floyd; Firefall; Rumours- Fleetwood Mac; Wings Greatest Hits

The two hanging planters are from World Market, and the one on the wall is from Target! All plants are real, wish me luck with that too... Real excited to have an aloe plant though!

Couch and end table- Wayfair; Mirror- HomeGoods

Pillows- HomeGoods

Stella Girl- one of a kind and not for sale ;)

Rug- HomeGoods

Office Chair- Target

Candles- HomeGoods; Succulent- WalMart

Geode Lamp- World Market; Candle- HomeGoods

Blanket- Target

I hope you feel inspired to make a cozy space for yourself!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page